Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im newbie here, first time to own a Porsche. (Cayman S)
For my 20k service, I visited local dealer(Rusnak Pasadena), and paid around
$800 for the maintenance including oil change,filter change,deleting errors, and brake fluid.
Im not sure whether I paid too much or not.
I just did quick search and it seems like most owners pay around $350.

and I saw that PCA membership? can save 10% off. what is PCA?

I will be waiting for u guys reply.
Thx!!

·
Registered
415 Posts
PCA is the Porsche Club of America and definitely worthwhile joining.

I just had my 20k mile service at Rennewerke for my 987S. Cost me $300.00 which included my front wheel balance and a new cabin air filter. And these guys are Porsche guys. They had every kind of Porsche there including a couple of sweet 911s set up for the track.

My local porsche dealer wanted 560.00 plus tax. Then they were trying to sell me a brake flush without even seeing my car. You know if they through in the brake flush I'd have probably given them the business. But 560.00 for what amounts to a glorified oil change and then your going hit me with a bunch of extras. Sorry, I have better uses from my hard earned dollars.

·
Premium Member
10,402 Posts
That sounds about the right price for me in the NY Metro area. $200 for the brake flush and $600 for the other checks and services.

PCA is the Porsche Club of America. $42 annual membership fee.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Do i really need to pay $800 every 10k at dealer?
is there any cheaper way to maintain the car properly?

·
Registered
975 Posts
Do i really need to pay $800 every 10k at dealer?
is there any cheaper way to maintain the car properly?
Independent mechanics will be cheaper most of the time. Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but is the only real difference at the dealer that they have the official rubber stamp for the owner's manual?