Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been scouting on line for the last 4-5 months, originally considering an 03-04 996 911. But when you can get an 06 - 07 Cayman for about the same cost, you've really got to want a 911 to buy one. So I found an 07 Cayman S about a month ago and have been waiting to go see it. I knew from pictures that it was filthy inside and out so took it to a car wash (self spray of course) right away to reveal the beautiful meteor grey underneath. It was not until I got it home and really detailed it inside and out, that I discovered what a great find this was. 14K miles and after 5 days, got it to where it looks like it could be sitting in the dealers showroom! Sooo nice. It's been raining like the last 5 days so have yet to take pictures.

For those interested, this was my detailing regime:

Outside- Wash with dishsoap, clean with Sonus Paintwork Cleanser, Claybar, Griots's Paint Sealant, S100 wax (from Harley dealer),Blue Majic on chrome tailpipes.

Inside- vacuum, alot of vacuum. Clean leather w/ Zymol Leather Cleaner followed by Zymol Leather Conditioner. Clean plastic surfaces with Sonus Cockpit Detailer. Used detailers brushers to get the massive dust out of all crevices. Invisible Glass cleaner on glass.

I'm looking into clear auto bra and have been reading the archives on the subject. I'll have a lot more questions as I get to learn more about the car. This is my 3rd Porsche after a 85.5 944, 2000 Boxster. This will be the primary travel car for the wife and I.

·
Registered
882 Posts
Welcome. I think you will really like it. May I suggest two things. First, really study the owner's manual. The car has lots of nifty features. Second, take a driving mini-vacation. If you are like me, you will return truly smitten.

By the way, I really like the clear bra on darker cars. It helps reduce road rash if you drive it a lot.