Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, so I'm not a master mechanic, but I got it done thanks to Gator Bite's excellent installation article. Many thanks also to Stephen for his diligent customer service and high-quality product. Since the weather suddenly decided to turn cold this weekend, I had to wait for the frost to melt this a.m. before continuing. The Cayman spent the evening on jackstands in the driveway. Got done about an hour after it started raining this afternoon...

As I was saying, I ain't Leonardo de Mechanica, so I do have a couple of questions:

1) The exhaust gaskets - which side up? The lippy side so it compresses onto the downpipe flange, or do you turn the little lip into the header?

2) I found two bags of bolts: 4 long ones, plus a baggy with 4 shorter ones with washers. I used the 4 short ones with washers to hold the exhaust onto the mounting plate. Couldn't find a use for the longer ones.

3) Still have a slight rightward bias to the whole system. I can get a finger between the tip and the fascia on the left, but only about half a finger on the right. I loosened everything, including the connector clamps and all of the mounting hardware. The shape of the downpipes seems to be keeping me from shoving it over far enough to the left.

Observations for any other below-average mechanics attempting this install:

- Be sure to trim the bumper trim plate enough. That one took me two tries, as I was being too conservative in the cutting. I used a Bosch saber saw with a metal cutting blade.

- Taking the rear wheels off provided good access to the flanges. A long skinnny socket extension helps a lot.

- You need to get quite intimate with the exhaust in order to lift and hold it in place. Knees and elbows help here, as does grunting, but don't be surprised if you get funny looks from the neighbors.