Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
325 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This has been a long time coming for me...after the bazillion write-ups of folks just doing the plenum without the throttle body and seeing almost no gains, I decided to go all the way. I am no means a mechanic by trade, but have done plenty of simple mods over the years myself and this car is no exception. Awe exhaust? Pretty easy. Tarrett sway bars and drop links? Really easy. So after reading that most people were able to do the plenum in a few hours, I decided to give it a shot. However, to this point I couldn't find ONE person who had done the comp plenum and GT3 TB on a 2.9 car, so I was a little worried ( even though IPD ensured figment). Here's what I discovered:
THE GOOD
*IPD makes some nice sh*t. Some of the best machined aftermarket stuff I've seen.
*Directions were spot on, with the exception of a reminder of the best step to reinstall the shifter cable between steps 32 and 33
*the car idles and runs perfectly, going to do my "calibration" drive this afternoon :) I added a fresh filter while I was in there and it immediately feels more lively.
THE BAD
*the stock design of the plenum and rubber boots (not to mention those horrible moon clamps) are pretty crappy. A thicker boot with one internal ridge and a pair of thinner clamps on each side would make more sense. It was almost impossible to get these to reseat with the new plenum. I got it to 100% on one side and REALLY close on the other side. This was the most unfunny part.