Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello guys, I saw k-man S thread on the Ipod but I'm really a rookie at this. I made a search but didn't work for me. What do I need to buy or modify to fit my iphone in the radio of the car. I just want to play the music but if it charges it will be better. Any suggestions ? Will appreciate it.
Thanks

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I tried the search but can't find if I need to change the radio or what do I need to buy. I had a BMW 645ci and they sell an interface designed to work the iphone in the cars Idrive. I know that our cars aren't like that but maybe they sell something similar. If not what aftermarket radio can I buy.

·
Administrator
34,474 Posts
I tried the search but can't find if I need to change the radio or what do I need to buy. I had a BMW 645ci and they sell an interface designed to work the iphone in the cars Idrive. I know that our cars aren't like that but maybe they sell something similar. If not what aftermarket radio can I buy.
Well that's why I suggested searching on iphone and reading some of the topic results that came back, especially those that mention the Dension unit.

You can buy any old FM adapter
You can buy a Dension gateway 500 unit or equivalent and install that, we even have articles on it in our ARticles section (another good place to search)
You can swap out the head unit with an Alpine or something else, and again there are forum topics and an article on that as well.

It just depends on what you want to do, then I'd suggest reading up on the related topics to your particular item of interest.

·
Boxster Enthusiast
1,769 Posts
What year and make is your Porsche? The interfaces are different in model years.

·
Registered
29 Posts