Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking to run BSP this year but am also switching to Bilstein PSS Damptronics for the adjustable ride height and stiffer setting. Has anyone looked into whether or not this will remain eligible for the Street Prepared category in AX. I thought it did but we have a little disagreement within my club in the interpretation of the SCCA's rule 15.5 on this point.

·
Registered
1,558 Posts
What specifically is the disagreement over the interpretation of 15.5?

I've been running in stock classes for 4 years, but ran in ASP for 9 years before that. Like you, I've long thought that aftermarket adjustable coil-over suspension systems such as Bilstein's to be legal in SP classes, as long as they are not adjustable while the car's in motion.

I consider the Bilstein's PSS systems to be a fairly mild upgrade compared to some suspension mods in SP classes.

·
Registered
976 Posts
Any shocks any springs.
Sounds like you're legal to me.
, as long as they are not adjustable while the car's in motion.
It does seem pretty straight forward that they should be eligible, but If there is an additional restriction about adjustability while in motion I can see how a case could be made against them.

1 ) pasm/damptronic is always adapting while in motion, 2) a button can firm up or soften back up your suspension at any time. Both could be construed to be a violation of non adjustable suspension during motion.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 · (Edited)
What specifically is the disagreement over the interpretation of 15.5?

I've been running in stock classes for 4 years, but ran in ASP for 9 years before that. Like you, I've long thought that aftermarket adjustable coil-over suspension systems such as Bilstein's to be legal in SP classes, as long as they are not adjustable while the car's in motion.