Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I went to the drag strip with a few Mustang friends and decided to try a few passes in the CS. The car got a lot of looks especially from the import crowd as it was the only Porsche there. It is documented that this is a 13 second car and I just wanted to duplicate that once before hanging it up. Keep in mind that I am by no means a professional/regular track driver. It was pretty hot and humid that night. I ran a total of 8 passes throughout the night. First pass was 14.9 sec at 100 mph. They got better by a few tenths each pass then I plateaued at 14.1 for a few passes. I started to doubt if it was going to be possible for me to get her into the 13's. Last pass was 13.9 sec at 103 mph. My competition that last pass was a sleeper diesel Dodge pickup that ran it in 12.5 sec. :burnout:No doubt that a cooler temp and an experienced driver could hit mid to low 13's in this car. Well, I have retired this 13 sec car from the drag strip and I have the time slip in the glove box to prove it. Just one of many great driving experiences hopefully to come.

2007 Cayman S M/T Stock

·
Registered
303 Posts
i was able to hit 13.2 my first time at the track last summer, i only ran 3-4 passes. i think i could get it close to 13 flat with a better launch. might give it another go this summer

·
Premium Member
1,847 Posts
The CS, at least stock, is not a very good drag racing car. But if you must:

• What was your launch rpm?
  • Did you drop the clutch for the launch or slip it?
  • What rpm did you shift at, redline?
  • What was your shifting technique? How long did it take you execute a shift? Did you lift from the throttle or not?
  • Did you get any axle hop?
  • What was the air pressure you were running in the tires, front and rear?
  • How many miles on your car?
  • Do you have Sport Chrono?

·
Super Moderator
6,032 Posts