Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My new '09 does not have this option. The car is not going on the track but did I really miss out by not getting it? I don't think you could get the car to drift without it or could you? Will it burn rubber if I decided to dump the clutch at 3500 rpm?

I had a 90's Corvette LT1 motor with a 6 speed before falling in love w/the Cayman at first sight last month. That car had limited slip and would lay a patch of rubber for 200'. The Cayman is just soooo much better in every way and women in their 20's will actually look at you now (not that it matters anyway, ha ha).

I have not tried to do anything stupid with it, other than hit 5500 RPM a few times in its first 799 miles going through the gears. Any thoughts as to quickest way to launch the 6 speed, rubber, drift etc. Total and complete newbie needs advice. Thanks - Joe:helpme:

·
Registered
1,162 Posts
You already know that it does make a difference, but only with spirited driving. So I think it all depends on your driving plans. I doubt if the 20 somethings will notice. The aftermarket awaits you if you ever feel the need.
BTW lots of discusssions on this site about this.:picsplz:

·
Super Moderator
6,032 Posts
My new '09 does not have this option. The car is not going on the track but did I really miss out by not getting it?
No.

I don't think you could get the car to drift without it or could you? Will it burn rubber if I decided to dump the clutch at 3500 rpm?
Does it matter? Are you planning to do either of these things on the street?

(not that it matters anyway, ha ha).
Sounds like you just answered your own questions.

·
Registered
358 Posts