Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
  • Hello Everyone! Let us know what you would spend a $50 Amazon gift card on, HERE For a chance to win a $50 Amazon Gift Card!
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

Looking to join the Porsche family and have my eyes set on two GTS, (one in MA the other is PA) and wanted to get some advice.

I've purchased many a car but this would be my first Porsche. Both are under warranty but only one is certified.

Can one buy an extended warranty and maintenance package like at BMW?

I'm not a mechanic so should I pay for a pre purchase inspection for the car?

Both are 6 speed so what should I look for from a clutch perspective? I'm guessing if the clutch goes bad, it's very expensive.

Any expensive items I should try to negotiate if I find anything or worth while?

Thanks in advance for all your input.

Rippey

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
5,504 Posts
Not a lot to go on with your questions because the origin of the cars is not stated, but I would guess that the certified one is at a dealership and the one under warranty but not certified is not? In the US I think that an extended warranty is only available from aftermarket sources, the certified car has a warranty extension that only a Porsche dealer can offer on a used car that they have inspected and 'certified' while still under factory warranty. Considering that you have asked the question about extended warranty I would think that the certified car would be of greater interest to you. As for inspection, again assuming that the car under warranty is not at a Porsche dealer, yes have it inspected by Porsche or a good(known) indie, and again assuming the certified car is at a dealer, all should be good there.

MT, my favorite transmission, no the clutch is not that bad, parts are reasonable and because of the mid-engine design, access to the clutch is good.

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you westcoaster