Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Noob here looking in from the outside. I'm looking at buying an '06 CS with 19,853 miles. What are the major service intervals? I assume it is 20K, 40K, etc. I asked the seller if he has had the 20K service done and he said no. What does that service cost approximately? He also said the tires are original so I assume those would need replacing as well. The warranty also just expired in March. Sounds to be me like he is selling the car just as it needs some money to be spent on it and the warranty has expired. He would sell it to me for $34,500.

Thanks

·
Registered
1,558 Posts
The '06 CS service reminder should have been set at 2 years, so that relatively low mileage CS should have already had one major service in March '08, with the second due in March '10. Note that Porsche subsequently shortened the recommended service intervals, so service on that car may be long overdue. Many of us recommend at least an oil and filter change every year for such low mileage cars.

You can check for yourself, but my guess is that the OEM tires (probably Michelin PS2s) are about done at 20k miles.

The cost of major service on the CS varies quite a bit, even across dealers. From what I've seen posted, cost might be in the $400 to $800 range at most dealers. Some dealers insist on doing some things others don't, and some have higher labor rates and parts costs than others. Cost at an independent Porsche shop is generally somewhat less.

·
Registered
264 Posts
The '06 CS service reminder should have been set at 2 years, so that relatively low mileage CS should have already had one major service in March '08, with the second due in March '10. Note that Porsche subsequently shortened the recommended service intervals, so service on that car may be long overdue. Many of us recommend at least an oil and filter change every year for such low mileage cars.