Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im looking at two base model 987.2 Caymans. 2009 vs 2011, virtually identical mileage (50K), one owner cars with strong carfax reports on each. 09 is 2500 cheaper, after negotiating terms of both. 09 has couple extra features- heated seats and upgraded sound and bluetooth connectivity. My question is- What are the main differences between the two years and is the newer always better just because of age? Any input will be much appreciated.

·
Registered
1,007 Posts
Well, I would chose the 2009 model due to the throttle body injection rather than DFI. The issue is carbon build up on the intake valve stem that is not easily removed on the DFI engine. No such issue with the throttle body injection. All of the other parts of the engine are the same.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Did not know of the DFI on 2011. Im a newbie to the Porsche world. Did not think I would ever own one but these models appear to be ultra reliable and alot of car for the money. So other than the DFI the cars are basically identical?

·
Registered
3,098 Posts
Did not know of the DFI on 2011. Im a newbie to the Porsche world. Did not think I would ever own one but these models appear to be ultra reliable and alot of car for the money. So other than the DFI the cars are basically identical?
Yep...no major changes made between 2009 and 2012 (last MY for 987.2) other than DFI added to base. There were 'special" models, though...Spyder, R and Black Edition.

·
Registered
8 Posts
I am under the impression that all 9A1 2.9L Base engines in the 987.2 are NOT DFI. DFI in the Base model didn't start until the 981.

·
Registered
1,007 Posts
DFI added to the base 2.9L engine in 2010. So the only 9A1 engine with throttle body injection is the 2009 2.9L engine with the Bosch ECU. The 3.4L 2009 DFI motor and all 2010 models change to Siemens ECU.

·
Registered
8 Posts