Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone. After the awesome install of the Turbo Kit by TPC Racing in Puerto Rico by SCIRO European Experts and Prestige Tire, I have made a second video after the First drive. This time I invited my teenage son, Carlos Alejandro to enjoy the ride with me and serve as my co-pilot. We really enjoyed making this video, hope you enjoy! :banana::dance::cool:

Link to previous video is in the thread http://www.planet-9.com/tpc-turbo-kits/65853-tpc-turbo-full-kit-cayman-2-7l-tropics.html

or

·
Premium Member
6,730 Posts
Welcome to the turbo club buddy..!

·
Registered
1,758 Posts
Thanks for the tour, beautiful video of tropical PR :)

I could see myself adding a TPC turbo to my 2.9 one day after the warranty runs out. But I have to admit I'm a complete novice when it comes to turbos. Can you answer some basic questions?

1) I hear that the 0-60 time does not improve because of traction control? And if you turn traction control off... you get too much wheels spin? I'd guess that Turbos are more useful for quarter mile drag racing vs red light to red light street racing? Just curious...I'm not really a fan of straight line racing anyway (I live for the curves). LOL

2) If you are taking a fast corner, does the turbo kick in at a certain point and make it harder to judge how hard you can push to get the car balanced right on the limit of traction?

3) On public roads does the turbo make a difference at lower speeds? My friend has a turbo in his Vette, but it doesn't do much until he's already well over the speed limit. Seems like a waste since he doesn't track his car. (He just likes telling people he has a turbo) ;)