Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
  • Hello Everyone! Let us know what you would spend a $50 Amazon gift card on, HERE For a chance to win a $50 Amazon Gift Card!
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just purchased a used, 2006 Cayman S with 45,000 miles in seemingly cherry condition, from a high end used car dealership. It seems to run fine and I drove it the 3 hours home no problem. I will admit I am no mechanic and due to the distance I didn't have the resources to take it to a mechanic to have it professionally checked out.

Now once home my buddy, says, "jeez you should trade it in for a 2009 or later ASAP as these 2006-8 engines are "well" known to have severe engine problems.". I will admit the other day when I started it, alot of exhaust smoke filled my carport for a minute and then cleared. I have only had it a week and that was the first time I had started it cold, since in my enthusiasm, I am more involved in getting the sticky buttons, HVAC knobs, rusted lug nuts all replaced, and I have this superstition about driving a new vehicle the first week having been rear ended twice in new cars the first week. At the purchasing carlot they said they had just had it running expecting my appointment so maybe that was to hide a cold start up issue symptom. When it happened I thought, "huh, that's weird"... My buddy though has sort of tarnished my enthusiasm now for my car...

I have an appointment with the local Porsche dealership to change the oil, fluids, and do an all points inspection and extra mechanical inspections needed to create a good baseline for future care and service. The carfax lists no issues, but I don't have maintenance records.