Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i just became the proud owner of a 987.1 base cayman with the base sound system (my 1st Porsche ownership experience)
And i would like some input regarding a few questions that i have regarding this specific model.

Coming from a 2015 bmw as a daily driver, i got used to all the tech goodies that a newer sound system has to offer (bluetooth , iphone integration, etc) so i felt the stock sound system on my cayman is very lacking.

I did some research and opted for a pioneer appradio unit which intend to install in my car in the following weeks.
as most of you know, the base system is very spartan, and I honestly dont feel i am anything close to an audiophile, but even for me, the lack of bass is notable. I noted that the stock bose subwoofer can be found for cheap on ebay,
is this something that might be worth considering installing to gain some bass in the system if plugged directly to the new pioneer HU?

Secondly, i want to keep the appearance of my dash as stock as possible. i found a relatively cheap color-matching bezel on ebay, would this be worth considering over the full installation kit that is sold in a couple of sites for around $250?
Radio Stereo Mounting Installation Dash Kit Double DIN Silver KT PR003 | eBay

Finally, is there anything else that i need to get prior to my installation? i noticed that bose-systems needs some kind of adapter to use the factory amp, hopefully i wont need to use anything similar.

I appreciate your time, and thanks for having me in this forum, most likely i will be making a couple of questions every know and then and trying to make whatever contribution is possible from me.

·
Registered
3,391 Posts