Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just a quick question as a newbie here, and, of course, thanks in advance for any assistance. I am very close to picking up a Cayman - either an '07 or a '10 (deciding between leasing and owning). I live in NYC and am lucky enough to have parking in my building. Unfortunately, there are no outlets anywhere close to my parking space, so a plug- in battery tender is not really a feasible solution. My question is, apart from starting the car every five days (could be tough some times) or leaving the car unlocked with the windows down (not gonna happen!), what other options do I have?

Hope to post pics, etc. soon. BTW, for you NYC'ers - what has been the best dealership to use?

Thanks,

Jeff

·
Registered
565 Posts
I picked up my dad's new '09 Cayman from the dealer over a month ago, since he's in Afghanistan. I've taken it out and driven it one time since it's been at his house. There were no problems with it at all.

·
Premium Member
10,402 Posts
Welcome to the site!

Not quite sure how to solve your battery issue yet. Just starting the car won't do enough to recharge the battery without a long drive (10 miles at least) afterwards.

In terms of dealers, I've heard bad things about Manhatten Motorcars. You'll find a bunch of decent ones in NJ and Long Island.

Ray Catena
Huntington
Paul Miller

should all be on your short list.

Check out the Nor'Easter section when you get a chance, that's where all the locals hang out.

·
Premium Member
10,402 Posts
I'd say get yourself a portable battery jumper and get familiar with how to pop the hood via the fusebox and jump the car if the battery ever dies on you.

That's probably the best thing to do given your circumstances...

·
Registered
80 Posts
I would suggest to ask the folks at Manhatten Motorcars (even if you don't plan on buying from them), they likely deal with the situation all the time.

·
Registered
183 Posts