Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
I'm a relative beginner to DE (3 track weekends this year, which is my first). I am loving it (had initially planned 1-2 DE days a year when getting the car, but am now hoping to do 4-5 in 2020). After a DE last weekend at NJMP Lightning (with NNJR PCA) I have a few questions. Apologize in advance if these have been answered elsewhere.... I've read through many threads in this and the other Porsche forum, and am still confused

1. Full Throttle Pedal Application
My instructor mentioned that I was sometimes hitting the kickdown switch when I was coming out of turns, unsettling the car. I had thought that in order to reach full throttle I had to be flooring it, but this apparantly isnt the case. Can someone give me a rough idea of what pedal application will get me to full throttle?

2. Brake Life vs. experience level
So I ended up completely wearing out my OEM front brake pads over the course of 2 DE weekends (actually 1.5 weekends since I couldn't run the last 2 sessions due to brakes completely wearing out and subsequent boiling of brake fluid), maybe 2 autocross sessions and 1-2K miles of fun street driving. I've read on the forums that brake pads last longer for the experienced people, but I'm not sure why. Is this just because they take the turns at a faster speed and therefore don't need to slow the car as much? Or are there other reasons?

3. Brake Application
Over this 3rd session, my instructor was requesting that I apply 100% brake level. I had thought earlier that 80-90% is optimal (although apparantly he feels that I was only doing 60%). Do people really use 100% brakes for the tight turns? This is probably related to my question above

4. Is PSM being activated?