Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My year old 09 C4 Cabriolet uses about a quart of oil every 600 miles. I'm told by Porsche and the dealers that this is normal as I have only 8900 miles on the car.

I previously owned a 2000 Boxster and a 1987 Carerra Cab and do not recall going through oil like this.

Any remedies, suggestions or confirmation that oil usage will decrease after about 10K miles?

·
Premium Member
2,173 Posts
There is a lot of discussion about this problem on the internet. It appears to be related to DFI, but there may be other features of the new 9A1 block that contribute. We'll have to see if the 09 3.4L engines will be affected, but it seems likely. I would keep track of your oil consumption. I would only be concerned if the consumption increases over time.

·
I'm an excellent driver ....
1,628 Posts
Some do, some don't. Two of my P-cars use absilutely nothing and they other one about a quart every 6,000 or so. I would just roughly watch it in terms of increase and oil spots underneath the car. Other than that it is normal. Some more, some less.

·
On Probation
582 Posts
a quart every 600 miles is normal ? keep an eye on it? its the exon valdez now....how can it get worse? any visable smoke ?

·
Registered
806 Posts
A quart every 600 miles is close to the limit of what Porsche allows before they consider the oil burning to be a problem worth rectifying (e.g. warranty rebuilt engine). But being at the limit and being normal are two different things, at least in my opinion. There's a bell curve of oil usage, and 1 quart every 600 miles would be at the far left of that curve. The far right would be those cars that never burn a drop. The cars in the middle of the bell curve, e.g. most cars out there and those that most people would consider "normal," probably burn a quart every 4 to 6,000 miles, somewhere in that range.

·
Registered
561 Posts