Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
310 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am looking at a 2007 2.7 with 25,000 miles. I had a Porsche dealer do the Multi-Point Inspection yesterday and they found "rear main at bellhousing seeping". It then says "CDW covered by warranty until 5/16/2011." What is CDW?
So... I've read many posts about this problem. Bottom line; this is otherwise a beautiful car in nearly perfect shape that has seen .68 seconds in Stage 1 revs and nothing above that. It will need rear tires soon.
Please tell me a little more about '07's and the rear main. Will this leak take out the clutch plate?
PS I am a mechanic and know about this stuff but not specifically about this engine/car.

Thanks in advance and I hope to be in the club with this car... , C.

·
Registered
310 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I did talk to them.... They simply reported a seeping rear main seal that would be covered under warranty. I'm just trying to deceide if this is a deal breaker. Is it OK to live with for a time? Will it take out the clutch if not addressed immeadiately? Thanks..

·
Caymudgeon
705 Posts
I've been reading about RMS issues for years on the 986 and 987 but never experienced one myself. From what I have read, RMS seepage does not typically cause any clutch damage but many with leaks at higher miles opt to replace their clutch at the same time the RMS is repaired. I don't know what CDW means but dealer repairs using factory parts typically come with a 2 year warranty so I would guess the code relates to that. For more on RMS leaks, try a search on ppbb.com. If the price on the car is right, I wouldn't be deterred by the leak but I would want it fixed.

·
Registered
310 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Hmmm. Who replaces two tires and not four?
I think you'd be buying someone else's problem.
I'd pass.
:eek: