Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The tread on the rear tires is worn completely on the inside - while the outsides are just past the tread indicator. Michelin Pilot Sports - dealer installed.

Is this normal? Is it the alignment?

It is a CPO but the original owner installed lowering springs (Techart) and upgraded sway bars/links. Also, the tires are 265-35-18 vs OEM 265-40-18, Up front they are 225-40-18 vs OEM 235-40-18, with good tread remaining there.

I am thinking of changing the rears with same tires for now ($650 + installation).

Is it possible to redo alignment on rear axle to more evenly wear inside-to-outside?

Any comments and suggestions? Thanks ... .

·
Enjoying the drive.
1,272 Posts
You could have the tires swapped after 4,000 miles or so. That would even out the wear some and make the whole tire usable.

·
I'm an excellent driver ....
1,628 Posts
Sounds like a bad setup without proper alignment. Stock shocks etc have only so much adjustability but a proper alignment can help even with stocks. i'll bet if you look at the tires from the rear that the outside edge barely touches the ground.

·
Premium Member
1,502 Posts
What PSI do you run the front & rear tires?

·
Registered
1,558 Posts
I would have a complete alignment before replacing tires. Lowering may have produced excessive negative camber for street driving, or perhaps toe settings are out of spec.

I wonder why someone switched tire sizes front and rear. Front and rear tire diameters are now about equal, whereas the rears are about .9" taller using OEM sizes. That probably didn't contribute to the excessive tire wear, however.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
32 front & 37 rear. But I have to admit that keeping them there takes frequent checking. And I have slacked some there - maybe every 1-2 months.

·
Premium Member
524 Posts