Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
4,713 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As I'm completely new to doing track days, I've been cautious about what I post with regards to video. I've got a bunch of dashcam stuff. Is there some etiquette I should be aware of when it comes to posting it? DE is perfectly legal but I understand some people might not want their insurance companies or even Porsche to know about it in case it has any effect on insurance or warranty coverage.

So what's the norm? Is it frowned upon? Is it perfectly fine?

·
Registered
534 Posts
A buddy of mine claims that insurance companies have been known to drop people from coverage if they find out they have been tracking their car. That seems extreme to me and I have never heard of this personally happening. Even if you do post the video online, they would be challenged to tie your identity back to the forum handle that posted the video. I personally would not worry about this.

·
Registered
751 Posts
There's a significant difference between being at the track racing and doing a driver's education event. The latter should not be an issue (IANAL). Personally, I'd just post the videos :taunt:

·
Registered
4,713 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
This is kind of what I thought. It's DE. They're extremely strict about timing devices and I think this is why.

·
Registered
1,413 Posts
A buddy of mine claims that insurance companies have been known to drop people from coverage if they find out they have been tracking their car. That seems extreme to me and I have never heard of this personally happening. Even if you do post the video online, they would be challenged to tie your identity back to the forum handle that posted the video. I personally would not worry about this.