Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Got the usual problem of rusty bolts - shame to spoil nice wheels with rust!!

The Boothe Design chrome ones are nice, but very expensive and I don't particularly want chrome ones

Can anyone recommend some plastic bolt covers off ebay?

Another option is these refub'd ones off ebay - zinc plated heads - do you reckon these would be any good?

PORSCHE BOXSTER 996 997 WHEEL BOLTS on eBay (end time 20-Jul-09 20:11:44 BST)

·
I'm an excellent driver ....
1,628 Posts
I have Boothe's on all my cars and can only recommend them. With the current exchange rate for the Dollar these really should not be that expensive. I also have zinc plated ones from ebay, they almost look like chrome. They will do the job but Boothe's are the best.

·
Administrator
34,450 Posts
Just my 2 cents but I wouldn't go plastic covers that are going to trap moisture more and make the bolts rust even more underneath. Yes the Boothe Design Boothe Designs, Porsche parts and accessories, No-Turn Technology bolts are a little more expensive than the factory bolts, but they are like pieces of jewelry, they are top notch and aren't ever going to rust. Mine still look great after years of hard driving including track use.

·
Registered
616 Posts
Got the same problem with my gen 2 997! Not good when the car is less than 8 months old with 2700miles on the clock!
Email Boothe Designs last night for a full set including locking wheelnuts but they don't bother to reply (Don't think it will give me any confidence buying from them!)
I had checked with Design911 and they do a full set for £126+vat which is quite good value but I don't like having the logo on the bolt!
I guess I need to do some research tonight!
Some fellow enthusiast suggests titanium bolt---is that a good idea for a road car?

·
Administrator
34,450 Posts