Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
307 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm shopping right now and expect to buy within a month or so. I looked at an '08 base yesterday with 15k miles. It was at a small car lot and the guy said it had not run in about 2 weeks. There was a pretty noticeable tick coming not from all holes but from maybe one. I didn't drive the car but it did run until the temp gauge started rising and by that time it had gotten better. I'm a mechanic and have heard a ton of valve trains in my days, even had a '71 911T. This is the first Cayman I have heard running and I want to know what to expect as I look at more. Thanks and I hope to be back as an owner, C.

·
Registered
209 Posts
I'm shopping right now and expect to buy within a month or so. I looked at an '08 base yesterday with 15k miles. It was at a small car lot and the guy said it had not run in about 2 weeks. There was a pretty noticeable tick coming not from all holes but from maybe one. I didn't drive the car but it did run until the temp gauge started rising and by that time it had gotten better. I'm a mechanic and have heard a ton of valve trains in my days, even had a '71 911T. This is the first Cayman I have heard running and I want to know what to expect as I look at more. Thanks and I hope to be back as an owner, C.
Could be the heat shield on the exhaust. It would be the first place I'd look both of my Caymans have done this. It is much more noticeable on the 08 CS.

Matt

·
Registered
307 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It sounded like a valve. I guess my question is could it be the result of high revs. I've read here about extracting the rev history. I'm just a little nervous about this purchase. I've never had a car inspected prior to purchase but I'm actually considering it this time. I'm coming off Audis and Saabs and I'm excited about a Porsche but I don't want to make a mistake.

·
Premium Member
1,143 Posts