Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
481 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2007 Cayman S with Sport Chrono and sport exhaust. You activate the exhaust by turning on Sport Chrono. I can feel the obvious difference in throttle response, but the exhaust sounds little different at all. I seem to recall someone saying the sport exhaust does not work at 25 - 40 mph. True? Are there are other circumstances where the system is turned off, regardless if I turned it on? Such as specific rpms, or...?

- Phil

·
I'm an excellent driver ....
1,628 Posts
No, just the speed will close the exhaust. Open you door, then press the button, do you hear the valves opening? You can clearly hear the PSE opening, if you do not, it is not working. By default the valves are open by the way. So at start up your exhaust should be louder, then close then the car is startes and not open again until you press the SC button. Again if you have your door open you can clearly hear the valves opening and closing.

·
Registered
65 Posts
You will hear the valve open and close if you listen with the door open. The sports exhaust is not a major increase in volume, just an increase in growl and type of sound I find although above 4-4.5k rpm it will be noticeably different. There is a silencer built in for about 20-40 mph but before and after that speed you will hear it for sure. Can you make a quick video reving with sport on and off and post it ? This way we can hear the difference. I have the same setup on my car.

·
Registered
1,162 Posts