Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Got a 2.9 2011 Cayman. Serviced by Porsche 2 weeks ago. Insert key, gears in neutral , depress clutch, turn key to start. Sometimes it does start, sometimes nothing happens. Lights all light up, depress clutch goes out but nothing happens when key turned to start. Is this a normal delay while the system goes through checks, or should it start immediately? Put key back to off, turn key to on, depress clutch and normally it will start although sometimes with a delay. I'm new to caymans so please bear with me (only had the car 3 weeks) Searched forums and i've seen clutch sensor mentioned a few times but the depress clutch light goes out when clutch depressed so assume that is ok? Thanks

·
Registered
62 Posts
To my knowledge there should be no delay when starting. Once you turn the key, the engine should start to try to turn over right away. My first thought was the clutch sensor as well, so if that's not the problem then maybe it could be the ignition switch itself. Either way I say take it back to Porsche, tell them it was working when you brought it in for service and isn't now. They should at the very least look at, and hopefully diagnose, the problem for you for free.

·
Registered
1,392 Posts
Its a simple job to disconnect the clutch switch and bridge it with a piece of wire and in doing so this will eliminate the possibility of a faulty switch. Alternatively, as said already take it back to the OPC and have them check it, but I'm not sure if they will do it for free as they will probably find some excuse to charge you.

·
Registered
574 Posts
You might also try putting a new battery in the key.

·
Registered
57 Posts
I've had similar symptoms. Mine turned out to be the steering column lock not disengaging because of tension. Take the key out; rotate the steering wheel a bit; put the key back in. If you hear the click of the lock disengage, the engine should start.