Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi guys,

I currently own an '06 Cayman S and my buddy owns an Exige S. We have both been extremely curious about the FRS/ BRZ and took one for a drive today.

Since our Cayman S has been repeatedly touted as the benchmark for the development of this car, you may be interested in my impressions. At least, I have been extremely curious to see how this sub 30k car compares to our P-cars.

Let's start with some pictures.

Certainly the FRS's dimensions are extremely attractive. It does not take up much more space than the Cayman, but has two extra rear seats reminiscent of my 997C4S, and even has a cavernous trunk which was super impressive. I love this trunk! I am a hobbyist photographer and it will fit all of my gear, which the Cayman cannot do.

It also looks much better in person than in pictures. I did not like the front bumper nor the rear diffuser in pictures, but they look fine in person. It's a very attractive, tight looking package.

So, some driving impressions:

- Extremely good suspension. Firm yet supple at the same time. This is BMW territory. It's so much more comfortable than my lowered Cayman S with H&R and reminds me of the best BMWs like the 3 series.
- Very balanced feeling in the corners. The front feels very effortless to turn in, and the rear feels quite adjustable with the throttle provided you're in the powerband.
- Steering is very quick, but the feel on-center is a bit vague (does not feel locked on like the CS or hyper connected like the Lotus, and does not have as much feedback as either). It's a good feeling steering, but not great. However, it is at least as good as my previous AP2 S2000. In this price range, it does not compare well to the NC Miata. But the Miata also does not come in coupe and does not have as stiff of a structure as the FRS.