Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
People have asked that I post up my travel adventure, so today it begins!

A little background: I’m new to the world of Porsche, and have been looking for a car for several months now. My two largest hurdles have been getting people to respond to inquiries about cars for sale, and viewing cars that have been verbally misrepresented.

Well, a few days ago I located a vehicle in Arizona, and I’m currently sitting in an airport in Minneapolis Minnesota awaiting boarding.

Uncharacteristically, I have no solid return plans. No hotel reservations. A couple of driving routes in mind. I’ll just drive until I get tired, and then find a place to rest my weary head.
Basically, I’m flying by the seat of my pants on this one! All in all, it will be about a 1,636 mile trip home.

I had been looking for a transport company to pick up and deliver the car to me. However, on such short notice, no one was able to give me an estimated date of pickup. “Could be 3 days, could be 3 months” is what I was told.

I’ll try my best to update this post along the way. Wish me luck!

·
Registered
1,837 Posts
Good luck with your trip. It will be a ton of fun. Porsches are great long distance drivers and will eat up the miles.

Keep your eye on the weather. Your new Cayman will have summer tires and will be useless in the smallest of snows. You may want to work your way east in the lower portion of the US until you get to I-35. Going thru the Rockies may be tempting fate at this time of the year.

Have fun.

·
Super Moderator
13,998 Posts