Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
  • Hello Everyone! Let us know what you would spend a $50 Amazon gift card on, HERE For a chance to win a $50 Amazon Gift Card!
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
TPMS Learning mode stuck after winter wheel swap: sensors reading from Durametric

This is a new one for me. I have been swapping wheels for 4 years now seasonally and re-learning no issues. Both sets are 18" 5 spoke, summer OEM sensors, winter after market.

Right now, I cannot get the TPMS to leave learning: its been about a week, several resets (switching between winter/summer to try to jog it) etc...

I got out the Durametric, and I can read the sensor values for pressure/temp/age on 3/4 wheels. RR is showing values that are impossible, such as 5.38 bar for pressure.

What puzzles me here is: it seems to me something else is amuck as 3 of the 4 wheels should report back, unless the TPC controller is toast, or this is a corner case that is freaking out
the TPC (some folks say the controller is sensitive: typical millennial :). I'm suspicious either way: all I did was swap out a set of wheels.

To see if it was a sensor, I swapped my rear tires and the problem did not move to the LR: the RR continued to report same 5.38 bar value.

Anyone else see something like this before? I have been searching and reading up across 997.1 threads as well as it shares a part with controller.

Not sure if I can just swap on a controller or not: did read that they needed to be coded to a car and can't be moved (which seems really stupid to me but believable :)

I'm inclined to leave it for the winter, swap on the summers and if it persists then take it in as I'll have a totally different set of information then and could get some warranty work (still some left on extended) but fundamentally this bugs me and I am trying to get to the bottom of it :D