Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
All I can say is, "WOW". The balance and poise with which this car corners is surreal. The event I attended at Pocono on Friday was about half other Porsches, including several GT3's and GT2's. I am by no means an expert driver - I have about 30 track days lifetime. During one session I was behind a GT3 for the better part of five or six laps. Each time we hit the NASCAR straight he pulled away (but by less than I would have thought). However every time we came back into the infield I was right back on his bumper. What a car. What a car. I don't even think my Atom would get around the track that fast. I'll try to post a video clip if I can figure out how to do that. If you own a 981 S/GTS and have not had it on a circuit, you owe it to yourself to find a way to do it. Again, WOW. (Now I have to figure out how to get my hands on a GT4.)

·
Registered
948 Posts
I know that feeling, the GTS is so wonderfully balanced - the car feels like it wants to take you to the edge and hang out there (almost) effortlessly.

Do you have PTV and are you running on the Goodyears or Other tires?

·
Premium Member
1,251 Posts
Also, did you run stock brakes or did you do something to address the brakes heating up ??

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Everything on the car is stock, including the very ordinary Pirelli PZero rubber, which is what made it even more remarkable. This group ran very short sessions (18 minutes), I didn't notice any brake fade. I don't have torque vectoring, but I do have sport suspension.

to be clear, this was an HPDE event, not a race. I also know that that if the GT3 had been in the hands of an expert, I wouldn't have been hanging on his bumper for very long, but it still makes me feel good ��

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #8