Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
236 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just got back from a track day on the weekend, the car performed very well, except the brakes (pads and fluid being upgraded this week) but as the day progressed I started having trouble downshifting from 3rd to 2nd. It was on two corners in particular ( the begining and the end of the back straight at Winton for the Aussies) when i was at full rpm in 3rd, braking very heavily for a 90 degree 2nd gear turn. On numerous occassions the car would refuse to go into second gear, it was as if the gear wasn't there, then usually once i was through the corner, and travelling a lot slower, it would slot in (after about 5 attempts). I have been driving manuals for 24 years, heal and toe very well so i don't think it was driver error. All other down shifts were fine.

A few suggested it may be a stretched cable or gear linkage issue, one suggested the engine mounts may be worn cause the engine to move under heavy breaking affecting the gear change ???

There is no problem with the gear change in street use. Would appreciate any feedback.

·
Registered
826 Posts
I had a similar issue with my 993 at the track one day. The shifter in the 993 was a lot sloppier than the Cayman, so I don't know if it is the same issue or not, but the symptoms seem identical.

In my exuberance downshifting at the track, I was moving the shifter too far to the left. I moved it so far left it went past the (loose) reverse gate. The 3rd to 2nd downshift movement is down, left, and down again. Once past the reverse gate, there is no down, so the movement was down, left, then stuck. Just like you, I thought it refused to go into second, but when slower, or in the pits or on the road, it was fine.