Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to Porsche ownership and recently purchased a 2011 Cayman Base. It did come with an LSD and a few other options that I assume are not typical on a base model. I purchased it from a dealer with only 15,700 miles on it. I previously purchased a new Lotus Elise in 2006 and the experience is very different between the two companies. With Lotus all maintenance information is readily available and I was able to purchase a factory service manual which allowed me to easily service the car myself for the most part.

Fast forward to my recent Cayman purchase. Right after buying the car I went to the parts counter and asked to purchase a service manual. "Porsche does not make that information available to consumers" was the response I got. I can understand not publishing service info for maybe the first 3 years of models life but after that service info should be made available. I own the car. I'm not using under license from Porsche and should not be forced to go pay outrageous service fees at a dealership. Yes, there is the independent option but I should not be restricted from doing what maintenance and repairs that I am capable of doing just because I cannot get torque specs, operation procedures and parts numbers etc.

We have a right to service what we own and Porsche should embrace (as most other manufacturers do) those that are enthusiastic enough about the marque to want to get into the nuts and bolts of their cars. If someone screws up a repair that is on them, it is not Porsches problem and likely some dealership or independent will be bailing that person out anyway.