Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
719 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm sitting outside Starbucks in the early afternoon, working on a brief (I'm a lawyer) outside on my MacBook Air. Young lawyer comes up to me and says that I was his "inspiration" for buying a Porsche. He remembers I drove a 997 coupe then a cab, and that drove him to buy a Porsche of his own. I told him that my kids wanted a pool and I just couldn't swing the pool and the Porsche payment, so the Porsche had to go. But I told him I was looking to get back into one, probably a CPO 911. He says he bought a Cayman, then motioned to the parking lot, and there was, Red/Beige. He said that was plenty car for him. It did look gorgeous, I have to admit. So I ask is it a Base or an S. He shrugged, and said he didn't know. I tell him I'm happy for him, and congratulate him. He's beaming. We say goodbye and as he pulls up in front of me, he revs it and says goodbye. Beautiful car, far more exotic looking in person than in the pictures. I'd says his is either an '07 or '08, and as he drives away, I see it is indeed a Base Cayman. I'm back to work on my brief, then in the distance I hear the most melodious sound of a car's exhaust note, I turn to my right and see my friend's red Cayman hauling it. What a sound! Wow, what a sound. I want a Porsche. Again!

YoungTurk

·
Premium Member
280 Posts
... I told him that my kids wanted a pool and I just couldn't swing the pool and the Porsche payment...
I'm glad your kids come first, and I'm also kind of glad I'm single, so I don't run into those sorts of decisions.

If you want another Porsche you can make it happen, pre-owned saves a bundle, decent gas mileage, insurance and maintenance aren't too expensive, and you have to drive something don't you, might as well enjoy the drive.

Chuck

·
Registered
719 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
You can find a well taken care of 2007 Base for about $30k these days....