Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
  • NOTICE - Before adding photos to posts on Planet-9, please review: Posting Photos on Planet-9

What Should I Know About Driving Cayman S On The Track

13K views 14 replies 11 participants last post by  Craig911 
#1 ·
I searched around for a prior thread that may have answered my question but I did not find one. I apologize if I missed a thread regarding my question.
I recently bought an 09 Cayman S to use for track days and street.
I'm an instructor and do about 35-40 track days per year. My primary track car is a Z06 Vette which is a street legal track car. I no longer trailer, I drive the Vette to the track. My plan for the Cayman is to leave it stock except for tires and brake pads. I have no plans for race seats, harnesses, roll bars, cages etc. I just want to keep the car as comfortable as possible. I never time myself so I'm not looking to eek out every 10th of a second. Out there just to have fun.

I've not yet adjusted to no 3rd pedal, no shifting. It still seems weird to me.
I bought the car in Fl and drove it home 15 hrs straight in pouring rains the entire 15 hrs. The conditions did not allow me to really test the Sport Mode + and PDK to it's fullest.
On the streets we all know it's nearly impossible to duplicate track conditions and keep your license.

My question is, what do I need to know about driving a PDK on the track?
Do I basically just sit back and and let the car do all the work?
I've got a Tiptronic Boxster and never really liked driving it with the Tiptronic. I've played around with the Cayman in the Tiptronic mode and don't like it either.
What do I need to be aware of driving a PDK Cayman S on the track?

In the end if the Cayman turns out to not be a fun track car it's still a fun street car & I've still got my track Vette and I also have my old faithful back up car, a Spec Miata. That one is trailered to the track.
Thanks

See less See more
#2 ·