Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I'm a newbie to your forum, and I need some help making a buying decision. The 6 cyl 2015 Boxster GTS really has my interest, as it looks really cool and has the driving features (and sound) that key my interest. However, for nearly the same price I can buy a much newer model with the turbo 4 giving me a lot more creature-features that also really interest me. So I'm torn between the sound and driving advantage of the flat 6 2015 and the newer technology of the 4 banger. Any help you offer would be greatly appreciated.

Also, any recommendations as to extended warranty providers? I just talked to Patriot Warranties and they want $5500 for a 7-year/100k "all-is covered" for the 2015 GTS. Anyone out there use this company? Any better deals available? Thanks in advance!
Frank

·
Registered
999 Posts
Frank, I don’t think you can go wrong either way. If sound is more important to you go for the 981. If performance is more important then I would get the 718. The cars are generally very reliable so you’re unlikely to have issues that way — just make sure to do your homework if buying used.

Also, if interior design is your thing then make sure you check out the subtle design differences between the two.

·
Registered
417 Posts
They are both capable fantastic sports cars, it's a decision making dilemma many can only dream about. As for the warranty, my advise would be to put that amount of money aside, somewhere safe hopefully with some modest growth, instant access and insure yourself. I LOL at the "car shield" commercials: "I saved $2,200 with car shield"! Did you remember to deduct the monthly payments from your savings? "No that would ruin the shady marketing of the commercial Boris"....

·
Registered
2015 Boxster S Manual
67 Posts