Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,758 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I took a 2.9 for a test drive. It seemed to really shine in 2nd gear from 40mph to 60mph, and in 3rd gear from 70mph to 90mph.

Can you guys chime in and give me some idea of the conversion to mph, for each engine's sweet spot in the RPM's range?

I was just curious where the real pep is in each engine, as it relates to daily driving... in 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th gear (4th gear is already way too fast).

How do you guys rate the Cayman and Cayman S in gearing, and being in the right RPM to pull off a quick pass on the highway (55-75mph speed limit) vs driving in town (35-45mph range) ... did Porsche get the gearing and rpm's right, for fun on the public road?

2.7-
2.9-
3.4-
3.4 gen. II -

·
Registered
182 Posts
I'm no expert but I like being above 3800rpm when passing. It's a good rpm in any gear for quick throttle response. Mine is a gen 1, 06CS with Softronics remap and other mods though; not stock.

·
Registered
1,758 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
I'm no expert but I like being above 3800rpm when passing.
So above 3800rpm's in 2nd or 3rd gear equates to how many mph on a 3.4 2006?

Everyone talks about HP, torque, and rpm's.... I'm trying to convert this into mph. (for example... and this is just a guess?)

2nd gear in a...
2.7 hits its best acceleration between 40mph and 55mph
2.9 hits its best acceleration range between 45mph and 60mph
3.4 hits its best acceleration range between 55mph and 65mph
3.4 gen II best acceleration range between 65mph and 75mph

3rd gear...
3.4 gen II

·
Premium Member
311 Posts
There is a simple rule for maximizing acceleration at a given mph speed. Choose the gear that operates the engine as close as possible to its horsepower peak. Everything else follows from that.

·
Registered
1,758 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)