Planet-9 Porsche Forum banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
425 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just saw a thread about Solo II (Autocrossing) and it reminded me of a question I'm usually too uncomfortable to ask. First let me say, I'm trying to ask in a I-really-want-to-understand-your-point-of-view sort of way not in a trolling my-racing-is-better-than-your-racing sort of way.

I tried Solo II racing in college as my first introduction to performance driving. I thought it was great, I went every month my junior and senior years, I was driving a beat up '87 MR2 at the time. I maybe have done 10-15 solo ii events in my lifetime.

Then I graduated college and got my first fast car, a '93 RX-7 R1. I took it to one auto cross and thought, wow, there's a whole lot in this car that I can get to on these short courses. That lead me to HPDEs and later to abandoning street cars and racing shifter karts.

So I guess where my question stems from is the people that take solo II really, really seriously. I think it's a great way to let someone dabble with their cars limits in a safe environment, but for me it ended up being a quick stepping stone as I learned about where I could pursue driving, it never really jumped out as an 'end-game' for driving to me. In particular the 'indexing' where a national formula was applied to adjust times that are recorded on a specific track seemed to be so silly as to undermine the competitiveness (at least across classes).

What attracted you to solo II from a time, money, effort-energy stand point to really want to compete at a high level in Solo II? Have you tried other types of racing and just really prefer the Solo format?